*

Recent

Author Topic: Need some assistance - Currently Stuck On Step 4  (Read 15749 times)

Vi3tShugo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Force: +0/-0
    • Free Games Online Arcade
Need some assistance - Currently Stuck On Step 4
« on: August 13, 2010, 09:54:06 PM »
I am a complete beginner when it comes to scripts and coding, but when I found this website providing a free script for an arcade with a support forum, I figured I would give it a shot.

This is the error I ran into when I opened the install.php page

Quote
Warning: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2) in /hermes/bosweb/web200/b2003/ipg.shugoshavencom/public_html/install.php on line 4
Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)

I believe I set up everything as per the instructions.

One thing I did come across that might've been a possible solution was to change the dbhost from localhost to MySQL, but I also ran into an error there.

Quote
Warning: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Lost connection to MySQL server at 'reading initial communication packet', system error: 111 in /hermes/bosweb/web200/b2003/ipg.shugoshavencom/public_html/install.php on line 4
Lost connection to MySQL server at 'reading initial communication packet', system error: 111

I am using iPage for hosting and domain services. Used MySQL from iPage as well. Uploaded each file (one file by one x-x except the templates) and folder according to how it was when I downloaded.

http://www.shugoshaven.com is the website.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2010, 09:56:49 PM by Vi3tShugo »

Adam LaCombe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 433
  • Force: +17/-0
    • My Blog
Re: Need some assistance - Currently Stuck On Step 4
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2010, 11:21:45 PM »
the dbhost needs to be localhost. Did you make sure you created a mysql database user?
Once you have a user, create a database and make sure you assign all permissions to the user you just created.

Vi3tShugo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Force: +0/-0
    • Free Games Online Arcade
Re: Need some assistance - Currently Stuck On Step 4
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2010, 10:00:00 AM »
Wait, you create the user BEFORE making a database? I don't think it gives me that option.

I did database and then user; which has Yes on all privileges.

http://i1045.photobucket.com/albums/b455/Vi3tShugo/iPageMySQL.jpg

Adam LaCombe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 433
  • Force: +17/-0
    • My Blog
Re: Need some assistance - Currently Stuck On Step 4
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2010, 10:14:41 AM »
oh ok, well either way it works then.

from what I see in the screenshot this is what your config should look like:
Code: [Select]
$dbhost = 'localhost'; // Database host usually localhost
$dbuser = 'vi3t_shugo'; // Database user
$dbpass = 'YOUR USER PASSWORD'; // Database password
$dbname = 'shugos_haven972'; // Database name

Vi3tShugo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Force: +0/-0
    • Free Games Online Arcade
Re: Need some assistance - Currently Stuck On Step 4
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2010, 10:19:46 AM »
Yes, that is what I had/have :)

Made sure the password was correct as well. even changed it around a couple times to make sure.

Adam LaCombe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 433
  • Force: +17/-0
    • My Blog
Re: Need some assistance - Currently Stuck On Step 4
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2010, 10:24:23 AM »
hmmmm.... would you be okay PMing me your cpanel login details?
I'll take a look at it and see what I can do.

First though, they should have a little content box somewhere I assume that tells you what your information should be to connect to your database.

Vi3tShugo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Force: +0/-0
    • Free Games Online Arcade
Re: Need some assistance - Currently Stuck On Step 4
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2010, 10:32:52 AM »
Pm'd, just make sure nothing to lost in the process. Like I said earliar, everything on that website was uploaded one-by-one and even had to be backed up one-by-one. Took me a while to find all the layouts&templates and type up all the content as well x-x

Vi3tShugo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Force: +0/-0
    • Free Games Online Arcade
Re: Need some assistance - Currently Stuck On Step 4
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2010, 10:49:06 AM »
Thanks so much! You were fast on responses too 0.0

Adam LaCombe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 433
  • Force: +17/-0
    • My Blog
Re: Need some assistance - Currently Stuck On Step 4
« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2010, 10:59:15 AM »
No problem, anything else I can do for ya just let me know

Vi3tShugo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Force: +0/-0
    • Free Games Online Arcade
Re: Need some assistance - Currently Stuck On Step 4
« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2010, 11:10:32 AM »
Um that error message i sent you...I think I know why at least part of it is messing up now.

I looked at the image location of one of the images and it said 'http://www.shugoshaven.com//templates/default/images/banner.png' rather than 'http://www.shugoshaven.com/public_html/templates/default/images/banner.png'.

I guess I installed incorrectly? What happens if I use the install.php file again?

Also to the answer to your question I had
Quote
$cachepath='/home/users/web/b2003/ipg.shugoshavencom/public_html/cache/';
But even when I changed it to the one you put it still had same errorrs, just change in the top line.
Quote
Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: open(/home/hostingaccountname/sessions/sess_9ed546ded53cca7d6e9c37bc2ba147a1, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in /hermes/bosweb/web200/b2003/ipg.shugoshavencom/public_html/index.php on line 2



EDITEDIT: OOh I believe my host/domain needs the php.ini thing. I just looked it up and saw that I use CGI I think. But I have no idea what to do with the php.ini file.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2010, 11:24:43 AM by Vi3tShugo »

Adam LaCombe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 433
  • Force: +17/-0
    • My Blog
Re: Need some assistance - Currently Stuck On Step 4
« Reply #10 on: August 14, 2010, 11:33:03 AM »
you should have dropped all the files in the pubilc_html folder on your server.
the install file doesn't need to be ran again, just fix where your files are placed on your server.

hmmm there is something wrong with sessions I guess with your hosting.
I'll PM you something you need to do first. If everything seems okay with your PHP info then I think Kurt could be able to help you because I don't think I know what to do lol

Vi3tShugo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Force: +0/-0
    • Free Games Online Arcade
Re: Need some assistance - Currently Stuck On Step 4
« Reply #11 on: August 14, 2010, 11:34:49 AM »
Quote
you should have dropped all the files in the pubilc_html folder on your server.
the install file doesn't need to be ran again, just fix where your files are placed on your server.
So just move everything in public_html into root?

Adam LaCombe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 433
  • Force: +17/-0
    • My Blog
Re: Need some assistance - Currently Stuck On Step 4
« Reply #12 on: August 14, 2010, 11:46:57 AM »
Yeah thats where you want it to be. everything is fine with your session info, I just have to figure out how to change the save path.

Vi3tShugo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Force: +0/-0
    • Free Games Online Arcade
Re: Need some assistance - Currently Stuck On Step 4
« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2010, 11:50:45 AM »
Ah, images fixed :D Now just the links and errors.
Are the links suppose to work or is that something I have to create?

Lol really sorry for all the trouble.

Adam LaCombe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 433
  • Force: +17/-0
    • My Blog
Re: Need some assistance - Currently Stuck On Step 4
« Reply #14 on: August 14, 2010, 11:55:38 AM »
Yup links are supposed to work lol. In your database open up the table dd_settings
edit the only column there and make sure you have the correct domain in the domain field, no slash at the end.
If that does not fix it, you may need to change seo_on from '1' to '0'

now onto the php.ini
create that file in your root. in that file enter this:
session.save_path = home/users/web/b2003/ipg.shugoshavencom/public_html/temp

if temp folder hasn't been made yet, make it in your root.

and don't worry about it lol I got nothing else to do :D